top of page

The Science of Sound and Music VIRTUAL Workshops
$1,000 Stipend for 8th Grade Teachers

In these 3 afternoon virtual workshop sessions for 8th grade teachers, you will learn how to use a series of web applications and hands-on learning opportunities to playfully explore and create sound. You will experience an NGSS-aligned instructional unit that you can teach your students.

This workshop will be facilitated by Dr. Victor Minces, 

neuroscientist of music and sound artist that designed the

web applications, and Dr. Alec Barron, Director of the San

Diego Science Project at UC San Diego. 

Participants are eligible to receive an $1,000 stipend for

attending all three workshop sessions and completing

light homework before and after event.

Choose your cohort!

With 4 cohorts offering diverse dates and times our aim to reach as many educators nationwide. Explore the dates and times below, and secure your spot for an enriching event.

Cohort A

Tuesday, February 27th

Thursday, February 29th

Tuesday, March 5th

4:30-6:00pm PST

5:30-7:00pm MST

6:30-8:00pm CST

7:30-9:00pm EST

Cohort B

Wednesday, March 13th

Tuesday, March 19th

Wednesday, March 20th

3:30-5:00pm PST

4:30-6:00pm MST

5:30-7:00pm CST

6:30-8:00pm EST

Cohort C

Wednesday, February 28th

Friday, March 1st

Friday, March 8th

2:30-4:00pm PST

3:30-5:00pm MST

4:30-6:00pm CST

5:30-7:00pm EST

Cohort D

Tuesday, February 13th

Thursday, February 15th

Friday, February 16th

4:30-6:00pm PST

5:30-7:00pm MST

6:30-8:00pm CST

7:30-9:00pm EST

REGISTRATION IS FULL

REGISTRATION IS FULL

REGISTRATION IS FULL

REGISTRATION IS FULL

Want to attend this workshop in person?

This content will also be shared in a 1-day in-person workshop located on UC San Diego main campus on Saturday, February 03, 2024 from 9:00 am-3:30 pm. 

REGISTRATION IS FULL

bottom of page